If you like what we do then please do consider donating. We are a not-for-profit endeavour and survive on reader donations to keep the project alive. There are two ways you can donate to the site: by becoming a “Friend of the Public Domain Review” with an annual donation, or by giving a one-off gift.

From November 30th to December 14th we are on a drive to get our number of “Friends” up to 750. And for all donors giving $30 or more there’s beautiful postcard packs up for grabs!


We are currently on 665 “Friends”
85 more to reach our end-of-year goal.
(Count updated daily)

Help us reach our goal by donating below.

Become a Friend of The Public Domain Review

friendofthepdr-symbol

Join our club of loyal supporters, each of whom give an annual donation and so create a bedrock of support vital to the project’s survival. There is no fixed yearly cost to become a Friend – any annual donation will qualify you – but there is a guide price of $60 a year (£40/€55).


Friends will get:

  • An exclusive postcard set sent out twice a year, each curated around a different theme*
  • Honoured in a special section of the site (name and optional link to a webpage)
  • Honoured on a dedicated page in all PDR Press publications.
  • First refusal in all future limited edition PDR Press creations
  • Special end of year letter from the Editor

* For those donating $30 (£20/€28) a year or more.


The Postcard Packs

  • 8 postcards curated around a theme, with a textual insert.
  • 2 packs sent per year – June and December – for those Friends giving $30 or more (£20/€28).
  • Theme for December 2016 set is… “LIGHT”.

  • nypl-digitalcollections-510d47dd-e6cd-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99-001-w-1 4b6e3caa4b949e7c179e52b169063850

Friends will get:

  • An exclusive set of postcards sent out twice a year, each set curated around a different theme*
  • Honoured in a special section of the site (name and optional link to a webpage)
  • Honoured on a dedicated page in all PDR Press publications — (next book due out end of November 2016).
  • First refusal in all future limited edition PDR Press creations
  • Special end of year letter from the Editor

* For those donating $30 (£20/€28) a year or more.


The Postcard Packs

Each set consists of eight postcards curated around a theme, with a textual insert.
Two packs are sent out per year – one in June and one in December – to those Friends who have set up an annual donation of $30 or more (£20/€28). The theme for the December 2016 set is…

“LIGHT”.

nypl-digitalcollections-510d47dd-e6cd-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99-001-w

The postcard set themed on “Light” will be sent out to all those who have become Friends, with a donation of $30 or more, before December 14th.



Make Your Donation to become a Friend


1) Choose currency*:
USD or EUR or GBP
$
EUR
GBP

OR


(You’ll be asked to fill in the above details again)


* If your bank account is not linked to either USD, EUR, or GBP, you can still make a donation – enter amount in GBP and your payment will simply be converted from your local currency at no additional charge.

** Please donate $30 (£20/€28) per year or more if you want to receive the postcard packs!

*** This page is secured with an SSL certificate ensuring that your card information is kept safe.




We see building a group of readers giving regular donations as vital to the project’s survival, but if you’d prefer to simply give a one-off gift then this is, of course, also very welcome!

Give a One-Off Donation



Make Your One-Off Donation


1) Choose currency*:
$
OR


OR
EUR
OR


OR
GBP
OR


OR

* If your bank account is not linked to either USD, EUR, or GBP, you can still make a donation – enter amount in GBP and your payment will simply be converted from your local currency at no additional charge.

** This page is secured with an SSL certificate ensuring that your card information is kept safe.





Why support us?

Put simply, without support from our readers the project will not be able to continue. It is of vital importance to us that all the content is available for free, without paywalls, and without the presence of intrusive advertising. This means that we need help from the people that enjoy the site to give a little something back to ensure that the project can go on into the future. This won’t just enable us to keep on bringing you more wondrous and strange things from the history of art, literature and ideas, but it shall also help to ensure such public domain works are free for everyone to enjoy in the digital age. We see ourselves as at the heart of the fight to keep the public domain free from restrictions as it goes online. This vast commons of material is an invaluable and indispensable good, which – like our natural environment and our physical heritage – deserves to be explicitly recognised, protected and appreciated.


What will the money go towards?

We are a not-for-profit project meaning all money goes back into the site to keep it running, namely: compensating the Editor for the 170+ hours needed a month to run the site, server costs, and IT support. If we get enough we’d also love to be able to offer an honorarium to our contributors – a long standing goal of the project.


How much do we need?

The Public Domain Review is a relatively inexpensive project to run. We are currently getting in around $26,000 a year, which is only just enough to keep things afloat. We are so happy to get to this stage, but we want to do more. Our target is to reach $60,000 a year. Such an amount would enable all kinds of wonderful things to happen, including being able to create a community of paid contributors.


Income (as of November 2016) Income compared to ideal goal (as of November 2016)
Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 13.43.39 screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-11-48-55

As of November 2016 the group of Friends is around 640 members strong! Getting the number of Friends up to around 1000 should get us well on our way to our ideal of $60,000 per annum.


Any other way I can help?

Of course. We are always looking for volunteers to help out with things – see more details here. You can also help by buying something from our online shop – we get about 20% from each item sold, so it can be a great way to contribute. You can also buy something via the “Further Reading” section of our site – Amazon will give us a small percentage of the sale price (about 6%). Also, spreading the word as much as possible, letting people know about the project, all helps a lot.



Any other questions please feel free to email us on: [email protected]